Storyist Forums

Another timeline request

vkier

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to both the Mac and Storyist, but I just wanted to add my two cents to the timeline discussion.

I'd be happy with a feature that allowed me to export selected section information to iCal. I'm currently using iCal to keep track of major events across all three books in my trilogy, with different calendars/colors set up for each POV character. What I'd need exported are:

1. POV Character (to map to a specific iCal calendar)

2. Section name

3. Location

4. Start Time

5. End Time

I have no idea what level of complexity would be involved in the above, but a linear, number line style timeline doesn't work for me. My stories span so many weeks, a linear view showing the whole project just ends up as a bunch of tiny, meaningless dots.

Thanks.

Vanessa

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to both the Mac and Storyist, but I just wanted to add my two cents to the timeline discussion.

I'd be happy with a feature that allowed me to export selected section information to iCal. I'm currently using iCal to keep track of major events across all three books in my trilogy, with different calendars/colors set up for each POV character. What I'd need exported are:

1. POV Character (to map to a specific iCal calendar)

2. Section name

3. Location

4. Start Time

5. End Time

I have no idea what level of complexity would be involved in the above, but a linear, number line style timeline doesn't work for me. My stories span so many weeks, a linear view showing the whole project just ends up as a bunch of tiny, meaningless dots.

Thanks.

Vanessa

Hi Vanessa,

Thanks for the request.

What an interesting use of iCal. If you feel like posting a screenshot, I'd love to see how you use it.

-Steve

Steve,

I'd be more than happy to post a screenshot. Only...I have no idea how to get the image to show up in a post.

Vanessa

Hi Vanessa. And welcome.

How To Post A Screenshot: