Storyist Forums

title page & page numbers

dennis7490

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Storyist and I come from Word for windows.

I imported he beginnings of my novel from Word successfully.

There is a blank page at the beginning.

Blank headers

1 - How do i create a title page?

2 - How do i put in the standard novel header with the correct pagination beginning AFTER the blank page, which i assume is for the title? When i tried this, it included the blank page as page 1, even if I put page 1 on the chapter One page. So it wold read BLANK PAGE/SANS HEADER, then Page 1 with header that I put in, then Page 3 with header, page 4 with header, etc.

thanks,

Dennis

p.s. the user guide doesn't help me much. maybe there is someplace else i can look?

Hi Dennis,

Welcome to the forums.

1 - How do i create a title page?

If you want it included in the document, you can type it as you would any other text. The Novel template has an example that you can copy/paste.

2 - How do i put in the standard novel header with the correct pagination beginning AFTER the blank page, which i assume is for the title? When i tried this, it included the blank page as page 1, even if I put page 1 on the chapter One page. So it wold read BLANK PAGE/SANS HEADER, then Page 1 with header that I put in, then Page 3 with header, page 4 with header, etc.

You can omit the headers on the first page by choosing Format > Page, checking the "Different first page headers" checkbox, and deleting the header on the first page.

There isn't currently a mechanism for starting/resetting the page numbering, however. Most people keep the title page in a separate file for this reason (and a few others).

p.s. the user guide doesn't help me much. maybe there is someplace else i can look?

In addition to the online version of the guide (http://storyist.com/support/users-guide/welcome/) there are some videos on the home page and a few how-tos at http://storyist.com/support/howto/

-Steve

Steve,