Storyist Forums

Moving items in Projects

pete.ruffini

Hi All,

I am new to this, just one day actually, and going into this i knew there was somewhat of a learning curve. That being said I..I have searched everywhere to find a way to move an item such as a character or a chapter around in projects, like to a group, etc. I highlight the item or try and drag it to a new spot and the item just stayed there. What am I doing wrong?

I'm sure this is something so simple but I can't spend another hour trying to find this on my own even though I am learning about everything else while doing so :)

Thanks!

Pete

Are you trying to drag a chapter or a character from one project to another project? You can't, exactly.

Usually you can copy a section of text, paste it into an unnamed section in another manuscript or project, and rename the section. Sometimes you don't even have to rename it.

For characters, you can choose File, then Export, then Text and Image Files (.rtf or .rtfd). Check the "export files to folders matching project structure" option, then drag the exported files into the Project View (outline) of your second project and choose Character Sheet from the pull-down menu (or Setting or Plot or Text File/Note, as needed). You will have to copy/paste the text into place, but it should all be present.

You can export and import manuscripts, too, but usually cut and paste works fine.

If you are copying within a single manuscript, project, or collection, you can drag and drop. So I am guessing you aren't doing that.

Welcome to Storyist and the forums,

Marguerite

If you are copying within a single manuscript, project, or collection, you can drag and drop. So I am guessing you aren't doing that.

Welcome to Storyist and the forums,

Marguerite

Hi Marguerite,

Thank you for your welcome and help! It is good to see a great community of users.