Storyist Forums

Paul from everywhere

G'day/Moin moin/Hello.

My name is Paul. I'm in my late 30s and Australian by birth but somehow a bit mixed-up geoculturally, coming from a family that was French-Jewish and solid German on my father's side and mixed English/Irish maternally. To make matters worse, I've emigrated 6 times in the past 20 years. But I suspect/hope that I am now stably resident in northern Germany.

I've been a passionate writer most of my life, and an actively passionate writer whenever my health has restricted my other creative activities, meaning that MS relapses over the years have coincided with bursts of work on my projected "Great Australian (mixed-up) Novel". The aim, however, is now to be a little more dedicated and to keep working at it even when the current relapse passes.

So, that's me. Just thought I should say hi.

Best,

Paul

Hi Paul,

Welcome to the forums! You'll find that Storyist is a great app for helping you organize your thoughts and disparate plot points and characters and help that novel come together.

On a family note, I can identify a bit. My family is solid Jewish, but on my German-Eastern European mother's side, my grandmother's cousins fled pre-WWII Germany to Austrailia, where a pair of twins became concert pianists. Go figure! I was born in California and lived here my whole life, but mom had been born in Jerusalem, moved to Sweden, then came to Boston, where she lived for years (through college) and eventually ended up here in Sunny California (which is currently quite rainy, but no matter).

One of my close friends in 90s was dealing with MS, and I've seen how challenging it could be for her. We lost touch when she got married and moved away, but she always managed to keep such a bright outlook, which I found inspiring as hell because I was a little gothic goblin who would fall to pieces if my soup wasn't warm enough and wished my attitude was more like hers. ;) All the best to you!

Take care,

Orren