Storyist Forums

Footnote/references

Shandor

New to storyist and frankly writing. I'm an engineer with two books and one sequel in my head that have been bothering me, trying to get out. I finally gave in and am going to give a shot to writing them. One is a thriller and other is kind of a light hearted historical journey. We'll find out if I am funny enough to pull off the second one.

Anyway, I'm accustomed to supporting my contentions (writing science papers will do that to you) and both of the books I want to write are science and history related! So I want to give the reader some way to "check my work". If you have ever read a Micheal Chricton book you will know what I mean. Whatever you think about his writing or his claims in his books, I liked the method by which the book seemed more solid by having references.

I only have the iPad version of storyist (you are awesome for making that step! It is why I went with storyist) so maybe I am missing something, but is there a way to get automatically numbered (and super scripted) footnotes or chapter references? It seems like a major feature and I don't really see much about it covered in these forums.

• 3 weeks later...

Hi, Shandor, and welcome to the forums!

There is currently no way to get automatic footnote creation or numbering or automatic chapter numbering in any version of Storyist. Both feature requests have been made before, and automatic chapter numbering has been an ongoing request for quite a while (you can search for the previous discussions—I don't have time at the moment to track them down). I agree that it would be useful.

Automatic footnote creation would certainly expand the reach of Storyist, which would be a good thing, in my view. Although I use Storyist mostly for fiction, its ePub/MOBI creation is so superior to that of InDesign or Pages that I would love footnote support just so I could import academic files and create ePub versions from them.