Storyist Forums

Problems with new IOS7

Esgarval

I'm new to Storyist and was enjoying it. It offers the benefits of a word processor and outliner combined, though I wish the default view was the "pinned" one.

Then, after the iOS update, some of the styles in a large document got corrupted - turning blue - and I can't find a way to easily get them back. There were many crashes so I waited til the bug fix update which I installed today.

Unfortunately, selecting "copy styles" still crashes the app (running on iPad 2).

Would appreciate a walk through on how to reformat a document using styles from another document.

Thanks.

Hi Venturez,

The bug in iOS 7 is that the new Text Kit returns a garbage value when the app asks for the foreground color of the text and the value is the default (black). This garbage color can be anything (depending on what device you're using and what happens on the device between the time the app asks for the color and the time it uses it) and is variously blue, green or white. If you open the text inspector and view the Font tab, Storyist 2.0.1 crashes when trying to display the garbage color.

Storyist 2.1 works around the bug by recognizing when it is about to ask for the default foreground color and providing it's own (non-garbage) answer, thereby not triggering the bug.

It does look like version 2.1 crashes when you select "Copy Styles" from the selection menu. This doesn't happen on iOS 5 or 6, so this is probably another iOS 7 bug. I'll investigate this right away and will submit a work-around to Apple. I'm sorry I didn't catch this in the last update.

As for reformatting a document using styles from another document, there are a couple of approaches. I've outlined them here.

-Steve

• 3 weeks later...