Storyist Forums

Scene sheets

Myster82

Hiya, I am brand new to storyist and am having a bit of trouble.

I exported a script i wrote in final draft. It has been added to my project, with a list of my scenes (scene headings). I can't seem to link character development points to those scenes (not coming up as an option). I can only seem to link them if i create a scene sheet and link it to that. Is this the case?

If so, is there away of linking that scene sheet to the part of the script it refers to?

I'm sorry if this doesn't make sense - but if it does, I will really appreciate some help.

Thank you

Stuart

Hi, Stuart, and welcome to the forums.

Yes, that's correct. You can link character development points to scene sheets but not to the actual scenes in your manuscript. To link (attach, in Storyist parlance) the scene sheet to the scene so that they remain in sync, do the following:

1. Click on the scene in your screenplay to which you want to attach the sheet.

2. Click on the rightmost icon at the top, where you see four small rectangles that look like index cards. You should see a card on a gray background that contains nothing but the name of your scene.

3. Click on the scene sheet you want to attach and drag it into the gray area. When Storyist asks you if you would like to attach sheet to scene (or section), click Attach. The two are now linked.

4. Click on the scene in the screenplay again.

5. Click on the icon at top right that looks like a piece of paper with one edge folded over. Your text will return.

If you ever want to detach the sheet from the scene, just repeat steps 1 and 2, click on the card for the scene sheet, and press delete. It will not delete the scene sheet, just remove it from the gray area (which Storyist calls the collage, because you can drag all kinds of items there, including pictures). Then repeat step 5 to see your text again.

Best,

Marguerite

• 2 weeks later...

Hi all,