Storyist Forums

你们好。

Greetings from the other side of the internet! I've been using Storyist for a while but only yesterday joined the forums.

Because I'm supposed to be studying for my Chinese final, I decided to come here and do something entirely different.

I'm a freshman in college. I'm a fan of most things internet related, video games, Joss Whedon and Joss Whedon accessories, fiction (my favorite authors at present being Douglas Adams, Feist, Orscon Card), television, and I currently plan to major in underwater basket-weaving.

If anyone has any cures for writer's block short of punching myself in the face repeatedly, I'd love to hear them. I average from thirty words to a page or so in the usual writing session :(

Greetings from the Gnu Yak side of the Internet.

I didn't know they still gave degrees in underwater basket-weaving. The baskets get awfully soggy, as does my UB.D (doctor of...well, you get it).

As for cures for writers block, whole books have been written on the subject. (Irony? Consider The Writer's Block: 786 Ideas to Jump-Start Your Imagination by Jason Rekulak.) When I get blocked I work on a different part of the project for a while, or a different project for a while, or just nosh, or pop over to the Forum (which is how I racked up such an awesome number of posts), or just allow myself to daydream.

I'm sure you'll find your mental clog-buster. Just try a few things.

-Thoth.

P.S. Thanks for the digital bunny. The best I can do is a snake.___________________@

Greetings from the Gnu Yak side of the Internet.

I didn't know they still gave degrees in underwater basket-weaving. The baskets get awfully soggy, as does my UB.D (doctor of...well, you get it).