Storyist Forums

Styles.

Fitch

I'm new to the program, but I'm having a heck of a time trying to figure out the secret handshakes associated with styles. Where can I go to make changes to the style sheet that will actually take effect and apply to every single new text sheet of the same type?

Orrin says edit chapter styles. I can't find chapter styles anyplace. When I go to format > Styles > Change Style Sheet every single choice is greyed out. All of them. In fact I haven't been able to find a single situation when they aren't all greyed out. I think that menu might have part of the solution if I could figure out how to change it so it effects the whole document but that's eluded me so far.

I've tried the steps in the Using Styles Sticky. A post that is much appreciated. Sometimes they work. Sometimes they don't. I haven't been able to figure out the secret ingredient to have them always work.

Sometimes, when I make the change as suggested, I go to the next text page and select body text, and I'm back to single spaced helvetica. Sometimes I'm not. I haven't figure out how to make the change take effect on body text throughout the document. What I was hoping was that I could change Body text, and then just select all the body text in a scene/section and have it reformat to the new default but I can't reliably make it do that.

I see a description in the top window of the inspector that says, body text + courier final draft + other things. That has me thinking part of the problem may be my formatting history, not using the styles correctly to start with. If so, tell me how too change the style sheet for the document away from the default helvetica and single spacing and then I can reformat the sections as I edit them to make them consistent.

I notice that

Thanks

Fitch

Hi Fitch,

I am confident you're not the dumbest person on the planet. Although you did put an "i" in my name when there isn't one, so you lose a couple of points for that. ;)