Storyist Forums

Writing and Education

orrenm

In another thread, I mentioned my education. I'm moving my answer here, since it had nothing at all to do with the other topic:

(So a psychology degree? Not Music or English Lit? Have you ever thought of getting into the field? Or was this just a college exploration thing?)

I hold two degrees: I have a bachelor's degree in psychology from UC Berkeley, and a masters degree in English from California State University, Long Beach.

As are most things in life, my path was circuitous. I applied to UC Berkeley as an English major, because I wanted to write the American Lord of the Rings. However, by the time I was in UC Berkeley, I was convinced that my "life path" was to become a rock star. So whatever degree I got was irrelevant, for I was to be in music. I didn't like the English program in Berkeley (not enough creative writing, mostly critical theory) so I opted for a degree in psychology.

I returned to Orange County (itself interesting, I was informally voted "Least Likely to Return to Orange County" by my senior AP classmates) and looked for work in the psych field, even got some interviews at mental health facilities. However, this was 1991; President Bush the First had cut all mental health funds, so there were few jobs available, and after six months, I decided to go back to school. I was deciding between getting my MFC license (Marriage and Family Counseling) or teaching. My half-sister is a shrink, and I decided I didn't want to do that. So I went for my teaching credential in high school--double credential in English and psychology. However, in the middle of that program, I decided I wanted to teach college instead, and changed one more time, ending with a Masters in English.

Ultimately, it didn't matter. I was going to be a rock star anyway, right? :P