Storyist Forums

Why do formats not survive cut-and-paste?

Dan A

Hi, Dan, and welcome to the forums,

Font overrides (bold, italic, etc.) can be tricky when cut and pasted. Are you trying to paste from Storyist to another program: Word, say? Or something else?

There are often ways to get around the tendency for programs to nuke the italics, but before I go into details, it would be helpful to know exactly what you're trying to do.

Best, Marguerite

• 2 months later...

Sorry I haven’t responded until now; life, ya know?

I have tried to cut-and-paste sections directly into gmail, as well as to Word and Pages. Much of my characters’ thoughts are in italics, so it would save a lot of time to be able to cut-and-paste with formatting surviving the action. It matters because some agents’ submission guidelines call for sample chapters in emails. 

• 3 weeks later...

I am new to Storyist, and am probably being dim about this, but I am trying to copy documents that were initially created in WORD into Storyist, and I can't seem to cut and paste them.  I've tried using import, but that doesn't work either.  Would greatly appreciate your help.   Thanks, Julia

The easiest setup for import is to use File > Save As in Word and save the file to RTF format. You can also find a lot of information about going back and forth between Storyist and Word in this thread: 

Copying/pasting out of Storyist is determined by the app you're copying into (Dan), but if you click in your manuscript and choose File > Export > then choose RTF, you can open that file in Word and have all the italics, etc. preserved. Save it as a Word .docx file, and you can attach it to an e-mail for agents or cut/paste from there if the agents refuse to accept attachments, as some do.