Storyist Forums

New User Questions, Etc.

garrickstaggs

Hi Everyone-

I'm a little new to Storyist. I've mostly been using Scrivener, but I would like to use Storyist as I can use it on both my MacBook Air and iPad. But... I find it's ease of use a little difficult. For example, it seems that you are forced to work a certain way, or format a certain way without any real freedom on setting up your book the way you want it to look. For example, I would like to have my CHAPTER NAME have a SUBTITLE and for both to appear in the Project view and ultimately the Table Of Contents when exported to eBook format. I can do this simply in Scrivener but there seems to be no way to do it in Storyist. For example:

Chapter One

The Big Divide

and have both of them export out into my ebook so that when people see Chapter One they don't have to click on it to find out what the actual name of the chapter is. The only way to do this that I can find is to name it like this:

Chapter One - The Big Divide

but then it ends up appearing on the page exactly like that instead of like this:

Chapter One

The Big Divide

which is how I would want it to look.

Does anyone know how to make this happen?

Also, is there a way to get a manuscript set up without all the predefined styles set up in it? Like a truly true blank canvas?

I can see how the software is geared towards novel writers wanting to publish to a publisher, but what about those of us who want to self-publish to ebook? All these predefined styles and makeup make it difficult for someone to visually set things the way they want it to appear.

Any help would be great thanks!

Thanks!

Hi Everyone-