Storyist Forums

Kindle gen problem

mmvoss

I’m very new to computers and storyist. so here goes. I wrote my story with storyist no problem. Exported to ebook mobie, My real name was listed as author in the process. I changed that to my non de plume. When exporting was finished and I went to my Kindle library Both names, my real name and my non de plume showed as authors. Went through the process twice same result Two Part question When I export to Amazon will this happen also, and if so how do I fix it?

I don't want to leave an "old guy" hanging but I've never experienced this problem and don't know how to fix it.

I can only assume that both names appear in the source code and you may have to go in and fix it by hand. Maybe not.

In any case, someone will eventually come to your aid once they spot this in the forums. (Possibly Steve, possibly M.)

Hang in there.

Fellow Old Guy

-Thoth.

The file exported to .mobi is the file you will upload to Amazon, as far as I understand it, so yes, you need to fix it here and check it on Kindle for Mac or Kindle Previewer before you upload something that has information you don't want.

That said, I export to .mobi with some frequency and have never encountered this problem (I too use a nom de plume). So I have some questions for you.

1. How did you change the information? Did you overtype the default entry in the author box and hit return, or did you add information in the metadata box below the author and title? If the latter, you inadvertently told Kindlegen to display both names.

2. Do you have the same problem when exporting to ePub? (To read an ePub file, you need either an iDevice or one of the free ePub readers such as calibre) or one of the paid ePub readers available through the Mac App Store, such as Murasaki or Bookle).