Storyist Forums

Difference between adding and editing a session goal?

cdulecki

I'm new to Storyist, but really like it so far, and will probably buy it in preparation for nanowrimo this year (my first time entering). I have a question about the goal area. It seems like in the goal area of the inspector, adding a goal does the exact same thing as editing a goal. Aside from the word "Edit" vs. "Add", they update the same fields, they both reset the counter, and I can't for the life of me figure out how to set two session goals. Am I doing something wrong?

Hi Corey,

Welcome to the forums.

I'm new to Storyist, but really like it so far, and will probably buy it in preparation for nanowrimo this year (my first time entering). I have a question about the goal area. It seems like in the goal area of the inspector, adding a goal does the exact same thing as editing a goal. Aside from the word "Edit" vs. "Add", they update the same fields, they both reset the counter, and I can't for the life of me figure out how to set two session goals. Am I doing something wrong?

Edit resets the current session data. You might use this if your writing session is interrupted, but you forget to pause the timer.

Add creates a new session and stores it in the project. You might use this if you want to set up a writing sprint or track your daily word count. The benefit here is that the session data stays with the project. A future version of Storyist could make this available for editing/graphing.

-Steve

Hi Corey,

Welcome to the forums.

Edit resets the current session data. You might use this if your writing session is interrupted, but you forget to pause the timer.

Add creates a new session and stores it in the project. You might use this if you want to set up a writing sprint or track your daily word count. The benefit here is that the session data stays with the project. A future version of Storyist could make this available for editing/graphing.

-Steve