Storyist Forums

Novel planning and outlining

SomeRandomBloke

Hi, new to Storyist (g'day from Oz) after diving into NaNoWriMo. Using both Mac and iPad versions which is a big, huge selling point for me. Anyway... although this novel is pretty much mapped out, I'm a little confused about the best way to plan a story in Storyist. I see character profiles and the like, and I've started to import those from Pages and Evernote, but how would you use cards view which appear to have space for notes, as opposed to plot points and the like.

As you can see I'm very new to both novel writing and Storyist, so my apologies for being so vague. Briefly, how does one go about planning a story in Storyist (just to get me started)?

Hi SRB,

Welcome to the forums.

Hi, new to Storyist (g'day from Oz) after diving into NaNoWriMo. Using both Mac and iPad versions which is a big, huge selling point for me. Anyway... although this novel is pretty much mapped out, I'm a little confused about the best way to plan a story in Storyist. I see character profiles and the like, and I've started to import those from Pages and Evernote, but how would you use cards view which appear to have space for notes, as opposed to plot points and the like.

As you can see I'm very new to both novel writing and Storyist, so my apologies for being so vague. Briefly, how does one go about planning a story in Storyist (just to get me started)?

On plot points vs. cards in the manuscript: The biggest difference is that index cards in the manuscript are synced with the chapters and sections in the manuscript, so if you delete or move a card, the corresponding text is deleted or moved too. This can be very useful if you're making notes while you're writing or revising. When planning, though, you probably want a little more room to experiment.