Storyist Forums

Multiple Manuscripts in the Same Story File

RPrescott

I am new to Storyist myself and decided to import a project I started a long, long time ago that was stored in text files. Since a lot of it was out of sequence and I wasn't sure about the final book layout I decided to import each section as it's own Manuscript. I read in the manual that things can be dragged around and readjusted, so I figured this would give me the most flexibility when putting things together.

It turns out this is NOT a good idea! When I started to move things around, the program lost data and moved chapters from one manuscript to another, even though I was just trying to resort the order of manuscripts on the left hand side. I kept manual backups as well as the in-program ones, so nothing was actually lost.

The biggest problem came when I tried to do some writing using the iPad app. I synced my story files (one was a new story that had about 10 manuscripts in, since I followed the same routine) and tried to add a new manuscript to the imported story. Once I created the new manual, I started typing away and was up to about 10 pages of text before taking a break. I synced back up to my Dropbox, put the iPad to sleep and took a break. When I opened it back up, the new manuscript and that part of the story was gone!

Even worse, the new story I was writing was missing all of the other manuscripts and was showing all the text as one chapter. This story I did not edit on the iPad, I only opened it to look at how it was configured, which was exactly as it was on my Mac. When I reopened it after the sync, I was horrified.