Storyist Forums

PDF Support - Native View & Export

OneWordThenAnother

I'm pretty new to Storyist, but unfortunately one of the very first things I noticed was its lack of PDF support. I'd love to be able to view PDFs natively inside of Storyist, as well as have the ability to export my manuscript to PDF once I've finished writing something. This is - to me - the most critical feature that is currently missing.

--------

Justifications:

Import: I do a lot of pre-writing and research using various other applications. I don't expect them all to play together nicely, so I've gotten in the habit of saving all of my research, character lists, background and designs, etc. as PDFs and simply importing them into my old workflow (Scrivener). They would all sit in my research folder on the sidebar, and then when I needed to reference something about my character I could pull up the PDF I'd created that had photos of style/outfits, background, and flow charts all in one document on my sidebar.

Export: PDF is possibly the only document standard that literally anyone, anywhere in the world can open on any device. DOC/X used to have serious problems on iOS. PAGES is worse since it can't be opened on Windows. TXT loses the style, and others need specific apps. Even if you do manage to get it open, sometimes formatting is skewed. PDF opens on every OS - from mobile to desktops, Mac to Linux, and everything in between -- if for some reason your machine isn't able to by default, it's free to download a PDF viewer. It keeps all formatting between these systems without loss. If it were unintentionally edited or corrupted while emailing, etc. it doesn't matter and can't harm your original copy because it's a read only image file. (OS X can "Print to PDF" by default, and its a decent workaround for the time being, but it lacks the options of choosing what gets included that you get in export options.)