Storyist Forums

Kind of confused - navigation

BlancNoir

I am new to Storyist, and I must say that I too am very confused by the software's interface and navigation. One of the main complain I have is that buttons react differently depending on the view one is using. For example, the button "Script" in the toolbar does not always display your manuscript. When "view as storyboard" is pressed, the script button displays the corkboard instead. Although I understand the logic behind it, I find this kind of navigation very hard to remember and quite frustrating.

Buttons in the toolbar should always display the same thing, forcing the other elements to change, like the "notebook" button does.

What do you think?

Welcome to the forum, BlancNoir!

I am confused by what you mean.

My tool bar (the bar across the top of the window with the icons for the different elements) always splits the view and displays what you pressed as a storyboard view in the split view, no matter what type of view you currently have chosen.

Changing the view in the project pane (the side bar on the left with your collections) displays what ever you've selected in what ever view you're currently in. Notebook included. If I have the storyboard view selected, everything displays as index cards.

I would find it annoying to have to reset my view every time I changed what I was looking at.

Perhaps this isn't what you're referring to though?

- Jools

I guess I am starting to learn that I have been fooled by the big buttons on the toolbar, and it is the View buttons that dictate everything else, not the other way around. The size of these three little buttons should definitely match their importance in the navigation, which is not the case now. Well, I am just a new member here. I wouldn't dare asking for a re-design of the software's interface.

:)

Well, I am just a new member here. I wouldn't dare asking for a re-design of the software's interface.

:)

Hi BlancNoir,