Storyist Forums

Placing pictures in text

david.ross

The way the Export process seems to work, each picture and each Manuscript is a separate issue. A Manuscript cannot contain a picture.

If one looks at Winnie the Pooh, supplied by Apple as an example of an iBook, it contains graphics all through the Text.

As far as I can see with Storyist, I must break my text into separate Manuscripts (losing thereby the ability to edit Styles across the whole text) and then put the Manuscripts and the Pictures into order when Exporting to epub.

I am a newbie to Storyist, but I have not bothered the Forum on this before researching as best I can.

Am I missing something?

I have now been through my text and created a second rough draft.

When seen in the iPad none of the text formatting (bold, underline etc) has been carried over, and the section breaks show as #, suggesting the iPad does not understand them.

The Table of Contents has been generated and looks great, but (presumably because of the previous problem) touching on them does not take one to the related page - as happens in Winnie the Pooh (great to have that available as a comparison on the iPad)

So it looks to me as if Storylist requires some development as far as epub is concerned. That doesn't worry me - it is early days and I am sure it is a big challenge to Steve. I guess he must have quite a culture shock with the advent of this new subject

Hi David,

Actually, inline images ARE supported in manuscripts. I've posted the Storyist project for the ePub version of the Storyist User's Guide here so you can see how it is done. Basically, you just drag a (properly sized) image to the place you want it in the manuscript.

As for section separators (the "#" character) appearing in the ePub file, Storyist doesn't currently filter text, so what you have in your manuscript is what you get in your ePub file.

-Steve