Storyist Forums

Is it possible to export the whole novel as one MS-WORD file?

Fitch

What I wanted to do seemed simple enough in concept; export my novel as one large properly formatted MS-WORD manuscript file with numbered chapters. How do I do this?

I didn't find this as an option in the user manual under export. I can't find it in any of the export menu structure, but I'm very new to this SW, and the Mac (for less than two weeks after decades of using a PC), so I might be missing something.

Thanks

Fitch

Hi Fitch,

The current version does export individual files in .doc or .docx format (though .rtf is the preferred format since there are a couple of issues with Apple's .doc and .docx converters). It doesn't stitch them together for you however.

This is a popular request from people coming from Scrivener users, and will probably be available in the not-too-distant future.

Note that Storyist does create ePub and Kindle editions from a collection of project files.

-Steve

Hi Steve,

Sooner is better. IMO: That's the most critical missing feature. :)

I exported to Scrivener (which worked really well) and used that to generate the whole document as an MS-WORD file. I had to touch it up in WORD. It was still a lot faster than copy/pasting 48 chapters, but it seemed 'wrong' that I had to do it that way. :(

Fitch

I don't think there's a right or wrong, it's all a matter of workflow.

When you create a Storyist manuscript, you can use Chapter Styles to create your chapters in the manuscript. The Project View then allows you to treat each chapter separately almost as if it were an actual separate file: move them around and reorganize them, the page numbering will change automatically, and so on. And then you can print and export the whole novel as one document. For many users familiar with Storyist, this is our workflow.