Storyist Forums

Moving Sections

TexasRunner

Good morning all. I ran into another confusing thing Friday (and today). After creating a Timeline Collection (Thanks Marguerite) I rearranged some of my Chapters which I realized were out of chronological order. When I attempted to drag some of the Sections into another Chapter they disappeared. Completely. I searched for phrases I knew should be there. They weren't in the Trash or anywhere. I had to retype the two sections. Not a big deal since I had printed out my manuscript, but I if I hadn't had a hard copy it would have been a big deal.

I assumed that if you could move Chapters around I could move Sections around. Apparently not. Or, being a Newbie, I messed up again. Anyone else encountered this?

I was wondering whether it might not be smarter for me to do away with the Sections entirely and work only in Chapters because they are more flexible. I am also seeing the wisdom in not making folders for the Section Sheets since, after renumbering all of my Chapters, I would have to rename all of the Chapter Notes Folders to correspond.

Thanks in advance.

I assumed that if you could move Chapters around I could move Sections around. Apparently not. Or, being a Newbie, I messed up again. Anyone else encountered this?

I've never had any problems moving Sections around, even between Chapters, or moving Chapters around. I've certainly never had any disappear on me.

Could you provide a little more detail? For example, when you say "Section" are you talking about the Manuscript text or are you talking about Section sheets (Timeline Collection sheets?) where you store information about Manuscript Sections? (Either way, they shouldn't just disappear.)

- Thoth