Storyist Forums

Setting and managing styles

shellbhawaii

I am a newbie to Storyist and a newbie to this forum. I am a copy editor trying to learn the software for the purpose of creating the uploadable .mobi files for my clients to upload on Kindle. After extensive research and counsel, it seemed this software was “the one” to choose for Mac users. Hooray!

Alas, I am awash in my frustration of attempting to achieve proper formatting when taking Word’s .doc file to an rtf file, importing it to Storyist getting the .story file, then finally exporting to the .mobi file and over to my Kindle.

My problem is the use of the styles and what settings supercede other settings. In short, I can get it LOOKING like it’s correct in Storyiest, but when I export the .mobi and move it to my Kindle there is ONE specific style that isn’t translating properly: section text.

My goal is:

Chapter Title: centered, Initial Caps, start new page, keep with next paragraph. Times New Roman 14pt, regular

Section Text: flush left (no first line indent), Times New Roman 13pt, italics, keep with next paragraph

Section Separator

Body Copy (or even simply default style): First line indent, Times New Roman 12 pt, regular, line spacing 12pt, after paragraph spacing of .2

SO, overall that works fine and looks fine in Storyist. But, when exported, the Section Text is NOT italicized, nor is it flush left. It appears as regular text with the first line indent. I've attached a screen capture of my style set up window for Section Text so you can see my selections.

I tried changing the Outline Level from Body Text to Heading 2, but not only does that then include it in my Table of Contents, but it takes on its own formatting style… which takes me to my second dilemma: can you change the style of your headings? If so, where?