Storyist Forums

Moving an existing project from Scrivener to Storyist

CorStellae

Hello,

I'm new to Storyist and I'm trying to move an existing project already in progress in Scrivener to Storyist, so I can continue editing it on Storyist for iPad. What would be the fastest and more efficient way to do that? I don't want to copy/paste every single document. I would like something easier than that.

Thank you.

Hi CorStellae,

Welcome to the forums, and thanks for checking out Storyist.

Hello,

I'm new to Storyist and I'm trying to move an existing project already in progress in Scrivener to Storyist, so I can continue editing it on Storyist for iPad. What would be the fastest and more efficient way to do that? I don't want to copy/paste every single document. I would like something easier than that.

Thank you.

A number of people seem to be interested in this. I'll do some research and post a more complete how-to soon, but to get you going:

I think Scrivener stores individual chapter and sections as separate files and then you compile these into a manuscript. Storyist imports RTF, so

1) Compile a version of your manuscript that you're happy with and export it from Scrivener as RTF.

2) Launch Storyist.

3) Create a new Storyist project from the Blank template.

4) Drag your RTF file to the Project view (the organizer on the left of the window). A dialog appears saying "Copy items to project."

5) Select Novel Manuscript from the Type popup and click Add.

Scrivener doesn't support style sheets (at least in its RTF), so Storyist will add a default style sheet (which you can change later when you become more familiar with Storyist).

Like conventional word processors, Storyist uses the style's heading level to build the document outline. This outline appears in the Project view and in the Outline view (View > as Outline). You'll want to apply at least the Chapter Title style to your imported manuscript.