Storyist Forums

Flash Drive?

MAD Energy

I'm a college student and I'm not always able or around to use my own personal laptop and I don't want to install Storyist onto school computers. I was wondering if it were viable to run Storyist from a flash drive?

That's an interesting question. I used to hear about a few models of flash drives that allowed you to uniquely identify their hardware. The license file on the drive could incorporate the Flash ID (as opposed to your computer ID) and would check it before Storyist ran. That way Steve wouldn't have a million bootleg Storyist programs running around. But that would mean you'd have to buy such a flash drive.

Perhaps the next incarnation of Storyist will be Storyist for the Cloud.

I like your avatar, Mad ∑nergy.

-Thoth

Hi MAD ∑nergy,

I'm a college student and I'm not always able or around to use my own personal laptop and I don't want to install Storyist onto school computers. I was wondering if it were viable to run Storyist from a flash drive?

You should be able to run the trial version from a flash drive with the usual caveats that it will be SLOW.

When you enter a license code, it is saved on the machine you're using, so it probably would not be very much fun to keep entering your code every time you launch the app.

-Steve

Perhaps the next incarnation of Storyist will be Storyist for the Cloud.

Storyist for Cloud would be fantastic! With all my classes I'm constantly switching computers and it would be great if I could just sign on and continue writing no matter which computer I were using.

I like your avatar, Mad ∑nergy.

Why thank you, Thoth! It's just something I created playing around in Photoshop.

Hi MAD ∑nergy,

You should be able to run the trial version from a flash drive with the usual caveats that it will be SLOW.

When you enter a license code, it is saved on the machine you're using, so it probably would not be very much fun to keep entering your code every time you launch the app.