Storyist Forums

Scripts, Scene Sheets & Plot Sheets — What's their relationship?

CartoonMike

Total newbie to Storyist. I like it's interface and it looks like it'll work for me.

I can't help but to feel like I'm missing something.

I'm modifying a document created from the screenplay template into something that I can use to write out comic book scripts. I think I have the hang of creating Character Sheets, Plot Sheets and Scene Sheets.

So I created a cast of characters, plotted out the first episode and worked on the scenes for the first few pages of comic scripts (i.e. for the drawn comic, a comic page may be a half-page or two pages of actual script pages). I was hoping to use a scene to be equal to one comic book page. What's throwing me is how do I reference the Scene sheets in the Scripts. It's like the various sheets are islands that can have bridges between them, but the Scripts are alone and every time I try to add a scene sheet to a script, it replaces the existing scene sheet. I had selected a scene and then right clicked on the script and choose the Add to script menu item and an untitled bookmark appeared in the bookmark section; this happens if nothing is selected, btw.

It's at this point that the UG has nothing to help me. It's as if information directly relating to the Scripts section just doesn't exist or I'm not seeing it.

It seems to me that the script is created independently from all other aspects of the app, that the plot, scene and character sheets are pure reference. I've spent the better part of the morning working on this — reading the UG, searching the forum and viewing the Screenwriting video (which was very good, btw).

Is there some form of linkage between the scene or plot sheets to the Script? If so, how is it created/used. If there isn't a linkage, then I can rest easy and just use the plot/scene sheets as pure reference to the script.

Thanks for any assistance!

Hi Mike,