Storyist Forums

What do you think?

rbabiak

Hi all.

I am new to these forms so not sure if this is ok to post.

I tossed these together last weekend.

What do you think?

Well reasoned criticism is welcome.

Gut feelings are welcome also.

Please take trolling to the nearest bridge and throw it over the side.

Thanks

- Robert

post-2045-0-92678000-1355798148_thumb.jpg

post-2045-0-54607600-1355798155_thumb.jpg

thanks.

I am planning to either self publish, if it ever gets to a point that I am not embarrassed by it or publish to family and friends. I am very realistic in my out look, I am not going to publish and be rolling in cash.

Wasn't planned to be a series, it was planned to be a short story, and is now 100k words. I have read that I need between 90k and 100k for first time Urban fantasy authors. I am a little over at the moment

Any words of advice on what makes a good cover, I just guessed based on what I have seen in other covers that I like.

Nico, I love the Gruu icon you have :)

Any words of advice on what makes a good cover, I just guessed based on what I have seen in other covers that I like.

The best advice I can give you is something you already know: look at other covers. What attracts you? What repels you? But above all, what covers make you want to buy the book and read the story behind the picture?

Another tidbit is: don't copy other covers. Putting Harry Potter on your cover may sell books but it will also get you sued.

Also, it doesn't matter if your book cover is busy or plain just as long as it stands out. If a plain cover sits between busy covers it will stand out, and vice versa. A plain cover could be lost in a sea of plain covers as easily as a busy cover can be lost in a sea of busy covers. Like titles, covers are also marketing tools so consider your genre and scream it with your cover.