Storyist Forums

Another prospective novelist waddles in...

orrenm

Hi all,

This seems to be a pretty small forum, so I figure if I'll be lounging around the couch and asking you to pass the appetizers, I should at the very least introduce myself. :)

My day job is as an acquisitions editor for a large academic publishing company (Cengage Learning). Specifically, I develop and acquire tutorial titles related to the music business and music technology (I'm a musician as well, you can tell by the hair :P ).

I've also written and co-written quite a few books over the years on Mac-related music technology (Logic Pro, Guitar Rig, GarageBand, etc).

A few months ago, however, I bought Storyist for my fiction writing. My first novel was finished pre-Storyist and is currently in the process of being rejected by every agent between the Pacific and Atlantic (you'd think being an editor in a technical book pub company would have some pull with fiction agents/editors, but it has exactly none), and will be self-released in early 2010. I am about half-way through my second novel, and I'm very much enjoying Storyist's ability to keep all my notes and images in the same document as my manuscript. This is a great app and I'm looking forward to using it for a long time to come.

I'll be posting every now and again to ask questions of those of you who know what you're doing so as to not continually be writing tech support for mundane questions. I'm sure Steve is already getting used to my semi-regular reports. :)

Take care,

Orren

Hi Orren.

Welcome to the forum. Please tell me you didn't write GarageBand Ignite! by Orren Merton (May 4, 2004). And if you did ... sorry. Hey, who am I to criticize. My own tech stuff had miniscule sales.

Better luck with your noveling.

- Thoth.

Hi all,

This seems to be a pretty small forum, so I figure if I'll be lounging around the couch and asking you to pass the appetizers, I should at the very least introduce myself. :)