Storyist Forums

How do I sync project between iMac and iPad?

gdmedia

I am just getting started with Storyist and have just installed it on my iMac (El Capitan) and installed the app on my iPad (IOS 9.3.1). When I start my project I would like to be able to sync between the two as seamlessly as possible. Most of the time, I will work on the iMac but sometimes I may make a few changes or add something using my iPad and would like that to be part of the project the next time I open it on the iMac -- and vice versa. I have read over some related posts but did not quite find my answer.

So, can I do that via iCloud? Or do I need to use Dropbox? Either way, exactly how?

Thanks!

Thanks, Steve. I have read that page, more than once. I cannot find anywhere in there where it says that it syncs what I do on my iMac with changes I make on my iPad or vice versa. It just talks about IOS sync and tells how to set the IOS app for either iCloud or Dropbox.

OK, now I have my IOS app set for iCloud. But would I not have to set my iMac app to also save in iCloud, in order to sync? Seems as though I would, but I do not find any instructions or settings for that. (I looked in Preferences for "save" location but did not find anything.) All I have read is that my iMac files are stored locally. So, I don't see how it syncs.

I am probably just missing something. Please enlighten me. Thanks!

Hi gdmedia,

It's there: "In this way, the changes you make on one device are synced with the cloud and from there to your other devices, so that all devices have the same version of your work."

The confusion is probably that the Mac is just another device. I'll update the docs to make it clearer, and provide an example.

There is nothing to do on the Mac other than to put your file in the Storyist folder in your iCloud Drive folder and edit it from there. OS X will take care of the syncing for you.

-Steve